top of page
Search
  • Nicole Avery

Relationship Reflections


My husband. We have been married for 20 years. We attribute our meeting to God's divine plan. I knew his bestfriend, who dated my cousin, for years. Yet we had never met. We both moved to Atlanta and lived in the same apartment complex at the same time, and worked for the same company but never met each other. Once I transferred back to South Carolina, three years later, is when we met and within a year we were married.

I often say that being married is the hardest job that I have ever had. Not because my marriage has been hard, nope not really. I think we have had the usual growing pains of any typical marriage. But it has been hard because it requires work, from both parties, everyday. Unlike my familiar relationships, we made a choice to choose each other twenty years ago and we have to make that choice everyday since. Our communication styles are polar opposites. He wants to discuss things immediately, while I need to sit with it and process it for a while. We have grown as couple and as individuals and give each other space to do so. He makes me laugh harder than any comedian out today. We are busy working parents that still meet for afternoon coffee and tea. We make sure we are good. Our relationship is not perfect, but we work to make it perfect for us.


21 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page